Malaysia truly Asia

Visitors who had seen the advertisements on Malaysia might realized that the tagline of our country is Malaysia Truly Asia. This is because, there are a lot of ethnicity living side by side in Malaysia. Three major races in Malaysia are the Malays, Chinese and Indians. Apart from that, we also have Eurasians, the natives of Borneo as well as foreign workers coming from all over Asia. So, if you are coming to Malaysia for the first time, do you need a visa to enter Malaysia?

Countries that Require Visa to Enter Malaysia

There are several types of visas available to visitors but this articles will focus on the visas for holiday. Among all the countries in the world, the following countries are the countries which need to have a visa to enter Malaysia:

  • Afghanistan (Visa with Reference)
  • Angola
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo Democratic Republic
  • Congo Republic
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Hong Kong (C/I or D/I)
  • India
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Myanmar (normal passport)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia & Montenegro
  • Taiwan
  • United Nations (Laissez Passer)
  • Western Sahara

So, citizens from the above countries are required to have a visa to enter Malaysia. However, some of the countries are now eligible to apply for the eVisa which can be done online prior to entering Malaysia.

Commonwealth countries which need visa to Enter Malaysia

Generally, Commonwealth countries are free to visit each other visa-free for a specified period. Nevertheless, there are some Commonwealth countries which require a visa before being permitted to enter Malaysia. The following countries are the Commonwealth countries which need a visa:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

Read my post on Kluang Rail Coffee, one of the must visit coffee shop in Malaysia

Countries that require Visa For a Stay exceeding 3 Months

As for the following countries, their citizens are allowed to visit and remain in Malaysia if the stay is lesser than 3 months. Nevertheless, if the visit will exceed 3 months, they would have to apply and obtain a visa before entering Malaysia:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria (Vienna)
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kirgystan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Lienchestien
  • Luxembourg
  • Morocco
  • Netherland
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • St Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovakia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Yemen

Countries That Require Visa For a Stay Exceeding 1 Month

Same as the previous requirement, however the difference for the countries under this category is the period. If the citizens from the below-mentioned countries stay in Malaysia for a period less than a month, they do not require a visa to enter Malaysia. However, they need one if they were to stay more than a month.

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Equador
  • El Savador
  • Estonia
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea Republic
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macao SAR
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Maldova
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Mongalia
  • Nicaragua
  • North Korea
  • North Yemen
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Sao Tome & Principe
  • Senegal
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan
  • Surinam
  • Tajikistan
  • Togo
  • Ukraine
  • Upper Volta
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zaire
  • Zimbabwe

Countries that require Visa For a stay exceeding 14 Days

For the following countries, their citizens need a visa if they are planning to stay more than 14 days in Malaysia:

  • Iran (90 days)
  • Iraq (30 days)
  • Libya
  • Macao (Travel Permit / Portugal CI)
  • Palestine (30 days)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Yemen
  • Syria (30 days)

So, how about me?

If your countries are not listed above, then it means one thing. It means that maybe your countries are subjected to the following conditions:

  • No visa is required for U.S.A. citizens visiting Malaysia for social, business or academic
    purposes (except for employment).
  • No visa is required for a stay of less than one month for nationals of all ASEAN countries
    except Myanmar. For a stay exceeding one month a visa will be required, except for
    nationals Brunei and Singapore.
  • For national of Israel, visas are required and permission must be granted from Ministry
    Of Home Affairs.
  • For national of Republic of Serbia and Republic of Montenegro, visas are required
    without permission granted from Ministry Of Home Affairs.
  • Nationals of countries other than those stated above (with the exception of Israel) are
    allowed to enter Malaysia without a visa for a visit not exceeding one month.

You can also check this post for further info.


The info is correct as at January 2018.


Like this? Pin It!


We are Khai and Amira, Malaysian travel bloggers behind Kaki Jalans. Our travels have taken us to almost all the countries in Asean and several countries in Europe. We are still actively travelling and adding to this list.


  1. Many people love to come to have their vacation in Malaysia is because of the convenient of the Visa. Most of the countries do not require to have a visa to enter Malaysia. This is really ideal for them where they can get rid of a lot of hassles.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.